I can truly identify, after having visited recently on of the poorest countries on the planet. I was especially struck by my own lack of appreciation for what I have, in stark comparison to the joy and happiness I encountered from those who are satisfied with a meager existence.

Make It Your Problem

Feeling blue this week, partly my mental illness and partly my selfishness, I realized that I won the lottery 60 years ago. I was born in a place where possibility, prosperity, passion and political certainty are present. I have enough of everything. ( when I get depressed, it is when I forget that). I can imagine and achieve nearly anything ( another sub 5 minute mile, the exception). My family is healthy, including my 87 year old mom and if it wasn’t there is fairly reliable treatment available. Roof over head (pretty fancy by world standards), food on the table (diverse, tasty, plentiful), daily learning and teaching opportunities (even when they are unwanted), a safe community, a community of faith ….

The abundance in my life, that is lavished upon me daily, is remarkable. And yet, I can wallow. How do you overcome the feelings of scarcity in so much…

View original post 1 more word

